Seasons

March 24, 2015 – Sunny, 43°, Sunrise 7:44 a.m., Sunset 8:24 p.m.

A new season is upon us, which seems appropriate, as it feels like we are experiencing a multitude of seasons in life.

Spring Season: It’s so nice to feel the warmth of the sun again! Though our snow was downright disappointing this winter, it was still dark and cold. To see the sun, and actually feel warmth – it’s a giddy feeling. You know that endless light and playdays are just around the corner. And while 40s in the fall means time to bust out my favorite scarves and boots, 40s in the spring means t-shirts and vests. No more snowpants, no more mittens, no more hats. The time it takes to get us all outside is drastically reduced, and I don’t need to pack a whole suitcase for a trip to the park!! I may be most excited for warm days in our backyard. I’m sure N will be walking in the next couple of months, and I just keep imagining glorious summer days, both boys running amok in the backyard, digging in the dirt and just playing!

Three Year Old Season: Whew – this is a tough one! So many days I wonder, what happened to my easy going, reasonable, happy little guy? There is still a lot of joy, a lot of laughter and a lot of fun…but the swing of the emotions in any one day, heck – any one hour!! is such a change. J now has opinions on everything, wants to do thing a certain way, fears are emerging, the crying over nothing – and everything, fighting bedtime, naptime, mealtime, rules, boundaries! Like I said – whew! I was talking to M last night, after another less-than fun bedtime routine, and I told him “the minute I close the door, my heart hurts for J. All I want to do is go back in and comfort him. But up until that moment, he’s driving me absolutely insane!” I’m so thankful for wonderful friends to commiserate with, a good pediatrician who offers suggestions and ideas, and amazing parents who affirm we’re not screwing up. This is what you go through. This is necessary.  We want to raise our little boys to be loving, respectful men, appreciate boundaries and enjoy life. That takes hard work, consistency and a lot…a lot…of grace!

Running Season: I am excited to run! After J, I ran a half marathon when he was 10 months old. After N, I felt pressure to have a goal to get me back to “me”, and so signed up for a 10K when he was 5 months old. That was too fast – my body might have been capable to train, but my mind was not. I was not excited for it. Since January I have been running just for fun, about once a week. No pressure of a goal, or upcoming race, just a chance to get out by myself and do something for me. It’s been amazing, and has gotten me excited to set a goal and work for something. Now I’m ready! Training officially starts in April for my next half marathon.

Cheerios & Cabinet Latch Season: N is an absolute joy! He’s a happy little guy, unless he’s ready for a nap or a snack…and this kid can eat: bananas, oranges, crackers, avocado, halibut, salmon, brisket, spaghetti, pancakes. Most of the time I don’t even make it back to the kitchen before he’s wolfed down his first serving. We’re going to be in trouble in a couple of years! He’s crawling all over the place, has perfected the art of pulling up, and he’s discovered the joy of opening up cabinets and drawers (and pulling out all the sandwich bags, because they, of course, are the hardest to put back in the box!). Hard to believe he’ll be one next month!

One thought on “Seasons

  1. I am with you on your 3 year old! I have heard that years 3 and 4 are way harder than 1 and 2 so we have to gear up. My favorite is when Ava yells, “No mommy!!” to something and it’s not even 8am. So, this is how the day is going to go I ask?

Leave a comment