Beach Dreaming

IMG_3869IMG_3860IMG_3872

IMG_3874A four hour drive is all that has separated us from our home and happiness on the coast of the Gulf of Mexico. Thanks to my parents visit this spring, we were able to tag along with them for a few days at their rented condo in Port Aransas on Mustang Island. I spent many a spring break with my family on these shores. And my parents did too, long before children were tagging along with them. I love imagine my hippy parents in their 70s finest, camping on the beach, chugging beers, catching local grub and wading through the same waters we dipped our toes in. Beaches are great generational equalizers. It hasn’t changed a bit. Those mighty waves still come in and out every day. I take comfort in that.IMG_3967IMG_3972

IMG_3964IMG_3960

It had been 2.5 years since we had sunk our toes in these shores. Caroline doesn’t remember it all and Elliott has never had the chance. I did not know what to expect and I was pleasantly surprised that they were just as enamored with the sea as I was. I took an ice cream bribe to get Caroline to even sit for one photo. Otherwise all I captured was her running with joy up and down the beach, back and forth into the water and across the sand. As it should be at the beach. There was no sitting and sipping frozen drinks and reading books. But there was splashing and sand castle building and shell hunting and towel snuggling.

And you can bet we will be repeating this trip as soon as we can and as often as we can.

Warning: what you are about to see is a lot, and I do mean a lot, of insanely adorable pictures. Scroll carefully.

IMG_3876IMG_3882IMG_3885IMG_3894

IMG_3911IMG_3917IMG_3932IMG_3938IMG_3943IMG_3950IMG_3921

IMG_4039IMG_3898IMG_3902IMG_3904IMG_3908IMG_4032IMG_3984IMG_3988IMG_4011IMG_3998IMG_3992Congratulations. You made it. Now I dare you to try to stay away from grabbing your suit and catching the next plane to the nearest body of water. I know I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

