Not Spring Yet

March 15, 2014 – Sunny, 21°, Sunrise 8:16 am, Sunset 8:02 pm, Total Snowfall 61.5″

Happy Birthday to my brother! 

Remember how I was talking about Spring Fever, being warm in the backyard without a coat. Ha! Apparently Alaska isn’t done with winter. M had mentioned that there looked like there was potential for snow at the end of the week, but the models were having a hard time locking on to it. We might get 2 inches, or we might get 12….well, we got about 16 inches!! Can’t say that I’m actually all that mad. I’m still in awe of actually living in Alaska again, and waking up to a winter wonderland makes me feel like a little kid. I am sad that I did not get out and grocery shop yesterday, because we’re definitely not going anywhere today. 

J and I headed out after breakfast, thinking I might be able to shovel the driveway. Not so much. But he loves just being out there with his shovel regardless. 

He's standing up

He’s standing up

The burn at the side of our driveway

The berm at the side of our driveway

 

He's a shoveling pro already

He’s a shoveling pro already

He loves to turn the shovel upside down and pretend to snowblow

He loves to turn the shovel upside down and pretend to snowblow

Licking some snow off his cheek

Licking some snow off his cheek

He was having fun. This looks to me like he's falling into a crevasse.

He was having fun, I promise! This looks to me like he’s falling into a crevasse.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment